Vegetarian Dishes

013

I threw out one casserole, but the rest have been divine. Samuel will eat some but wants a beef burger, not veggie. I love veggie burgers and am taking the time to cook them. Black bean burgers are my favorite so far, but these exotic lentil burgers with ground walnuts are scrumptious too.

It called for herb de provence which has a long list of spices, some I had, some not. Topping the list was ground rosemary and fennel. Easy, I can do that. And I added many of the others listed. What an aroma. I also hate peeling garlic, but a friend gave me a bag of fresh garlic from her abundant garden last fall and I peeled. There is certainly a much better highly herbaceous scent from fresh garlic. I am enjoying my escapades into this new arena of vegetarianism with a great deal of success.

The simmering Moroccan stew concocted yesterday was so different and appealing to my taste buds. I had ground many spices together adding a hefty amount of curry. Time was taken to finely chop or grate celery, carrots, peppers, onions and carrots. Rice, lentils, black beans and orzo completed the dish. I made up the dish and the name, but it worked. (unlike the casserole that was thrown out)  I am not adverse to adding meat and this tasted good with cut up chicken breasts.

Today, a grape pie for my son’s family from the grapes harvested last fall.

The morning glow before the sun rises while the birds call is so pretty!

009

6 thoughts on “Vegetarian Dishes

  1. Mmmmm. I love black bean patties. All your dishes sound yummy! Another yummy vegetarian dish is baked sweet potatoes topped with black beans, salsa, olives, pineapple, peppers, cauliflower. It is my go to dinner these days. And if you like squash, there is a Mexican dish I make called enchiladas calabaza. Super yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You sound like a super chef. I have known you are a good cook. I am mostly a meat and potatoes girl which pleases Samuel, but it is fun to break out of the pattern. He liked my Moroccan dish which shocked me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

