Joy in the Mundane

As the frost melts the mundane tasks of life bring joy. Usually one to start a task then before finishing start another, my scattered brain takes me to a third and a fourth. Slow down! Dammit fucking hell, as the basket drops from the shelf and scissors slip from my hands.

The broken brain is on overload. Slow down, breathe. Taking in air slowly the feel of the metal pan with warm sudsy water is sensed by my fingers and the breeze coming in the window… a caress.

Oh how I’ve missed the sweet joy of just being in my body and noticing the miniscule daily occurrences that bring sweet peace and joy.

It is in the mundane where life excites me; my body and mind at peace so the spirit is free to explore, dream and grow. Oh, how I’ve missed this thing called ‘life’ while forces out of my control took hold and I went someplace else.

Being back home in all ways brings quiet satisfaction and joy.

9 thoughts on “Joy in the Mundane

  1. Mundane is quite subjective isnt it? finding joy in the mundane brings routine, structure which in turn is safety, security, well being and trusting of surroundings and the immediate world around you. mundane is never boring or uninteresting, for it is in those structured routines that one can spend time to explore the possibilities in the mundane! do that make mundane interesting? I think so 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

