WORRYING

Picture 066

photo by patricia

March madness indeed. A beautiful sunshiny spring day called as the sun burned off the thick fog. While meditating my breath didn’t feel like enough air came through and the emergency system kicked in. Is this the day to die? What a nutter the other part of the brain mocked. The heart began beating in fear as the adrenaline kicked in. 

Going out to the new deck Samuel is building I cry, “I can’t breathe through my nose. Am I having a heart attack?” 

“I can’t either,” he stated, “We probably caught a low grade virus from the grand-kids. I’ve been sniffling for two or three weeks. You’re OK.” 

I needed that reassurance and calmed down yet later in the day felt the same violent fear as if superseding all else, mainly common sense. After a few years with scary visits to the hospital my body and psyche are experiencing a delayed response.

Though calm through most of it at the time, now that things are healing my delayed emotional responses are kicking in. Every little thing sets me off compounded by my relentless harassing of myself over my own silliness.

What about kindness? At age 8 the lesson learned was that I was on my own and not worthy of it. No one came to my aid to soothe or protect me from relentless marauding brothers.

The message learned? Unworthy, less than others, sub-human or not even human. Self-hate became embedded into my personality. It is daily adventure to explore kindness. Some days are more successful than others.

When I remember the ongoing work of granting permission for loving kindness towards myself, warmth seeps in like a soothing soft blanket, hot bath, or cup of cocoa; even moments of mother’s love, like a cool hand on a fevered forehead, rare as those times were.  

It is like a door opening wide to the sunshine. Softness melts my icy interior, tenderness replacing cold harshness. Of course you tend to become anxious easily. It is part of the ptsd. Not your fault. Remember?

Trained to keep horrors to myself meant I was the horror. It filled and consumed me having no escape or place to go. A child takes it all in blaming herself. Others encourage it to help keep the family shame quiet.. forever.

Even last spring now in my 60’s, brother Seth said after learning I wrote a book about my life, “Why would you publicize the family’s dysfunction?”

It was all about him. That interaction came only after months of no answers to my emails, rejecting me with his silence until I confronted him.  My need to belong puts self-respect on trial. 

Ousted at age 8, I am ousted again. Who is this brother I thought I loved? The panic of being ejected once again from the ‘family’ sent me to the ER with an overnight stay to rule-out a heart problem. Anxiety took hold and I couldn’t calm ‘her’ down.

Unable to be in my body easily or comfortably makes it difficult to discern true medical issues from those of the heart. The heart can be affected in many ways. 

His response last spring is the same response from the so called ‘family’ at age 8. Be quiet, hence be nothing. It is as if I await their permission for self compassion, waiting for one word of acknowledgment that never comes.

Where were you Seth after I told you Danny fucked me as a little girl? Did you stay around to keep me safe? Did you do anything? Did Don stay around to protect me from abuse after he came running into the bathroom due to my screaming because “it stung down there,” after the rape?

No one intervened in any way. My pain became compounded embedding into my psyche permanently with chronic PTSD because of the enforced rule; be silent or be abandoned. 

Caught up in this concept of unworthiness that the family encouraged in order to keep their secrets safe is a hard concept to erode then rebuild. 

Leaning to open the doors to my soul with kindness, acceptance, and love is a continuous journey towards peace, warmth and freedom… It is long and hard won, re-claiming my right to be here. 

107267-104986

8 thoughts on “WORRYING

  1. This is so painful to read. I am so sad for that little 8 year old who still cries in pain for help. I hope you have someone who holds you so close you can hear the calmness of their beating heart. I hope you are able to find places and things that bring you peace. I pray for you. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You deserved to be seen, heard, shown kindness and care and understanding. The little girl you were deserved those things, and who you are now deserves them as well. You aren’t being silly– when you can’t feel safe in your body, and have been out of your body for so long, it’s hard to know if something is a medical concern/emergency or “just the normal way my body feels when I’m anxious”. It’s not silly at all and it makes perfect sense.

    Sending you lots of kindness and care and good thoughts. Xx💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Alice. I am not sure I’ve ever met a more kind-hearted soul. Thank you so very much.
      I think March is more challenging this year because I feel adrift since not picking up Cindy daily from pre-school. So I have no job, hence what is my purpose? That will soon change in a few weeks when I have the the new baby for two days a week along with Cindy. I might be taking on more than I’m able…we’ll see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

