PSYCHOSOMATIC OR PHYSICAL?

Picture 219                                                                                                                                                         

Discharge papers: Diagnosis- Chest Pain (Nonspecific)

Causes include one that makes sense for me rather than anxiety, inflammation around the heart. In yesterday’s post I used the word ‘anxiety’ but it didn’t feel right. I am more at peace these past ten or more years than I’ve ever felt, including feeling calmer around others, and definitely when at home.

The pressure is still present though when occupied it goes unnoticed until I’m still. The worry that it’s an oncoming heart attack has lightened the load exponentially. So it doesn’t make sense that it’s anxiety.

I stopped taking baby aspirin in November because of internal bleeding and haven’t restarted. The surgeon said wait till summer to restart because the healing process is very slow. When the pressure continued without relief these past few weeks I thought about the daily aspirin. Upon discharge the cardiologist requested I restart it. 

Anxiety played a great part in increasing the symptoms. But I don’t believe it is the root of it. I am hoping the restart  of aspirin relieves any inflammation if there is any. And rather than worry over the pressure my intention is to ‘suck all the marrow out of life.’ (thank you Thoreau from Walden)

Dead Poet’s Society

10 thoughts on “PSYCHOSOMATIC OR PHYSICAL?

  1. I had a night, and the next day, when my blood pressure was too high. I knew it was high because it causes a ringing/buzzing sound and pressure in my ears. I was told to call 911. I did. One of their questions was, “Do you take anything for anxiety?” Uh, yeah. They decided I was safe and left. Then the anxiety did hit, so strongly that I called my therapist and we talked for about 15 minutes. After that I did feel better. My blood pressure continued to be high for several weeks, but not as bad as that night and following day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anxiety makes everything worse for me so if I am having a rapid heart rate then sure enough I get stressed and it all gets worse. The good thing is that the cardiologist gave you the ok. I am also on asprin that I just started last week to prevent stroke.
    I hope you are feeling better soon. I think sometimes we just don’t know the cause. If our brain has made something worse due to past stress and just a subconscious trigger going on. Either way it is real and should be validated.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gosh, the flowers are gorgeous. I can’t believe the fantastic focus and detail you get. Do you use a special camera?

    It’s so hard to figure physical stuff out. They say inflammation is the root of all conditions and diseases now. Stress is one thing that causes inflammation, which gives us further inspiration to be serene!!! So…”SERENITY NOW!!”, as George’s father used to shout on “Seinfeld”. Tee, hee.

    I’ll have to read Thoreau someday. He’s so famous, I feel like I’ve read him…but I never actually did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My camera cost less than $100, Nikon Coolpix. Point and shoot. The trick: takes lots of photos, one is sure to be perfect. Thank you digital!
      I never actually read Thoreau. I learned it from the movie Dead Poet’s Society with Robin Williams. Suck the marrow out of life. I just love that.
      It has taken a long time, but physicians are learning of the close connection between mind and body. I think we still underestimate its significance in many diseases, or all of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ironically I just had this discussion in therapy. Yes, it can be both. I tend to ignore things and ignore things because there’s nothing anyone can do…one session she asked me ‘what if it’s something easily solved?’ Brilliant, I hadn’t thought of that 🙂
    Glad you’re taking care of yourself and relaxing a bit!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now that the worry of an impending heart attack is off my worry shelf, I’ve upped my activity enjoying my walks and getting things done. But yes, at the same time if a negative thought comes, or when, I breathe deeper and slower. Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

