HORSES

011

My mother may not have offered dance classes, but she did allow me to have a horse in the backyard. She had her friend put up electric wire from the garage to the side yard turning it into a pasture.

The first animal I had was a pony, but I kept it down the road at the old barn behind Grandma’s house. I stayed overnight in the winter at Grandma’s so I could carry buckets of water to the barn from the house because the nights would freeze the water. It had to be replaced frequently. I trudged through the snow and back before the bus came.

No one monitored my goings on, how I took care of it, fed it, nothing. I did it all on my own, tethering it to a post with a chain in the meadow during the day, and keeping him in the barn at night where the cows once were barred in. 

Then she allowed me to trade up for my horse and keep her right at home. I gathered corncobs from the neighboring field after the farmer had harvested, filling up wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow. I paid for the hay and straw with my babysitting money. 

My ponies and horse made my childhood livable filling it with wonder and miracle… During later years, while raising the boys, I bought my horse Missy, and a pony for Shane, Joey. We had many pleasurable rides together. But once Shane became an adolescent turning teenager, he then wanted rides on things with motors. I became a solo rider, and that was OK too…

 

 

6 thoughts on “HORSES

  1. I love horses, you were so lucky to have one, I read you always wanted one, there are such gentle animals that should’ve said I really always wanted one i’m glad you have those good memories from your childhood Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was pretty remarkable when I think back to my resourcefulness. I had the farrier there, the vet, bought hay from the farmer and kept track of how many bales and was conscientious about paying him. My girlfriends came, and besides the vet and blacksmith, I can’t think of any other adults. Those days kids were left to roam the countryside, or we were because my mother worked.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a picturesque dream. I’m so glad you had your pony and then a horse. You knew that goodness existed in spite of the horror of what you were living through. I could just picture you doing all this on your own for your pony and then horse, the corn cobs, the water. How beautiful. I wonder if you ever thought of writing a novel for middle grade. In sixth grade, I remember reading every horse novel I could find. I still love the smell of horses.

    Oh and can I say, What a cool piece you created!!!! Your house must be filled to the brim with artwork.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

