FRIENDS

018

I made the wreath and found this lovely plaque at a garage sale for a buck… 

It is so amazing, the women I meet and call friends on-line. The wisdom, the knowledge, the knowing. I’ve not found it anywhere else except with my friend Sue who died three years ago. To have found a friend like her, the best friend I’ve ever had, so late in life…to have known her about 5 years, and lose her?

Seems unfair, yet I have the exquisite pleasure of knowing what a true friend is like. Though we disagreed, we didn’t have disagreements. We gave each other the space we needed and respected it.

When she knew she was dying she apologized for leaving me. She worried about my other friendships. I’d gotten disappointed by them and had begun to let them die out just as she was. How can another being hold that much love for another? And how was I blessed to know such love?

But I find it here among women I’ve never met face to face, a connection that goes deeper than the ones I know day to day. And I say, Thank You….thank you from the deepest recesses of my being…just thank you— strong, courageous women, a community of strength, love, wisdom and support. 

8 thoughts on “FRIENDS

  1. I love when ironic things happen. Actually I’m pretty certain it isn’t irony that your post was first in my feed and that I was listening to “For Good”. It’s a beautiful song that sings to exactly what you just wrote about… https://youtu.be/CQJaZO2nfGg
    I’ve heard it said,
    That people come into our lives
    For a reason
    Bringing something we must learn.
    And we are led to those
    Who help us most to grow if we let them.
    And we help them in return.
    Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
    But I know I’m who I am today
    Because I knew you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful.

    I’m so glad you had this wonderful friendship with Sue. I had someone like that once. I didn’t think I’d ever get over the sadness when she died ten years ago. I haven’t known anyone like that since.

    But hooray for new friendships online!! Dare I trust? Yes!! : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

