THE BAKERS!

004

“Please don’t tell your parents you had cookies for breakfast!” I whisper.

Our eyes meet in collusion holding a sweet, chocolaty secret. With a crooked knowing smile, she nods and says, “I won’t!”

I wipe chocolate off her satisfied face as she rubs her belly…

“Do you like the baked cookies or the dough the best?” I ask.

“The dough!” she exclaimed, though both had been gobbled up readily.

In my defense, I did cut the flour with half whole wheat, reduced sugar by a third, and replaced half the butter with olive oil. Do we not now have HEALTHY chocolate chip cookies?

She adores going into the basement to pick out a basket from my overload of a collection to make up a cookie basket for her family. And enjoys laying a pretty napkin in the basket and filling it up delighted with the anticipation of surprising Mommy!

 

13 thoughts on “THE BAKERS!

Leave a Reply

