WHERE OH WHERE HAS MY CHILD GONE?

DSCN4005

Spend time with a child. Your child will come out. Mine did yesterday when my grand-son wanted one of us to come out into the ocean-like lake.

Poppy and I were nestled lazily in our chairs watching the action on this Goldilocks Day, not too hot, not too cold, juuuuuust right.

“Come out with me?” Wade pleads with Poppy.

Poppy says ‘No’, but I do, gingerly testing the water, 10 degrees warmer than Fillmore Glen. Not bad!

It’s very breezy, with waves breaking constantly, not like last time when waves came in only when a boat zipped by. The children are delighted. Wade is gleaming, looking up at me, and probably wishing I was his sister who knew how to be a child full of joy.

I drop to my knees giving in to the delight and become his size, belly laughing as each crash almost topples me, screaming with glee. I am five years old and have had the best time! Aches and pains dissolved in the fizz as it furls, bubbling over my body which fills with the moment, full of sun, surf and excitement transferred from my grand-son to me.

9 thoughts on “WHERE OH WHERE HAS MY CHILD GONE?

Leave a Reply

