IT’S MY BODY

it's my body

At the same time during the early 80’s when I confronted my own past, the school systems were mandated to offer new curriculum to grade school children about how to avoid unwanted touch and to tell an adult if something did not feel right.

It was empowering to work with both grade schools, principals and nurses, as our district had two grade schools. I also felt honored to be asked. And I had ‘come out of the closet’ because I had written a letter to both schools explaining my past which is why they asked me to help.

This book was one that was included in the curriculum along with a video. It felt so satisfying that children would now learn ‘good touch, bad touch’ and that they had the right to say, “NO!” then go tell another adult. They learned where others should not touch, the parts that a bathing suit covered.

The book depicted here is one example of the simple, easy, light method used to teach young children about their bodies, that their bodies are their own, and to empower them as to who touches them; most importantly that they do have the power to decide that.

I just bought two of these books for my young grand-children, one who is two, the other, five.

16 thoughts on “IT’S MY BODY

  1. I remember when ChildHelpUSA first put out a brochure in those first years in the 80’s. I found one in the local pharmacy and my eyes immediately locked on to it. I brought it home and wrote a letter to the address on the back, thanking them for doing something, anything. I was eleven or twelve and so grateful to have words to describe my experience.

    I’m impressed that you were part of that movement to bring awareness and assistance. Thank you for being part of the changes that have changed the landscape of children’s lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just started blogging for NAASCA (National Association of Adult Survivors of Sexual Abuse) http://naasca.wordpress.com/ and we got into a conversation about this on the radio show–about how I had told an adult once that I’d been molested and nothing happened. I took from that that it either wasn’t a big deal, or that we don’t talk about stuff like that. We talked about adding to the these kinds of books, that if that adult doesn’t listen, KEEP TELLING, until someone does listen. This is really a great post, Patricia. Your involvement it that project is so cool. We all have our stories, but these kids are the ones we might help avoid having to tell stories like ours. I admire you so much! ♥

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Those sound great and might also be found at the library?
      This one wasn’t available at the library. It’s another way to help protect our children and empower them; same as learning how to cross the road safely; and it can be done in a fun way, not scary or too complicated.

      Thank you for some more title names! Important topic…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have an entire board on Pintrest dedicated to children’s books on sexual abuse. There are quite a few to read. Sometimes I think about my own experience and realize that I honestly didn’t want to tell. It wasn’t even that confusing at the time. I was either in love with my gpa or scared to death of him. Either way I wouldn’t have related to the books, at least I don’t think. Most probably I would have dissociated through the words being read as it wasn’t me, it was just a story in a book. I don’t know if that makes any sense or if it is just me feeling different because of the abuse.

        Like

  3. I’m glad to hear what you are doing, and was warmed to read in the comments about those this has helped. I was a young child in the 80s, and vividly remember going to the school meeting at age 8 or 9 with my parents and everyone else and their parents. We watched a video with good messages and a catchy song, and in the following weeks the teacher read us simple books and we practiced saying no.

    But I remember feeling the men at that meeting were laughing at us kids, or smirking; that they knew things about us, and so I had to pretend everything was okay, this did not apply to me, so they would not think of me like that.

    I also didn’t manage to link up the message with my own abuse – not once. The role I’d learned was so ingrained I never faltered – just kept going as I had been. I can’t understand how such separate worlds existed in my head and looking back I see I must have been a very split up sort of girl. It makes me sad that I was so completely affected by the abuse and so split off, that I didn’t recognise that part of me.

    Sorry to have ended up writing a post on your post – probably need to write my own post about this. I am grateful to read your post and that I’ve found some clarity from it. This is one of my ‘murky’ areas.

    Like

    1. If you’d already been abused, the prevention came too late to help you. I believe that first touch casts a feeling of shame into a child. especially without being forewarned. Children tend to blame themselves for just about everything.
      If I’d been taught this after my brothers had been after me, it was definitely too late. I’d told once and didn’t again until more terrible things happened. If you felt males were acting as such, it sounds like you had already been greatly harmed and that your perceptions were off kilt. At least that’s my guess because Dad’s, grand-dad’s etc. would be interested and caring during such a meeting.
      You are more than welcome to write as much as you like.

      Like

      1. Yes, once the bad things have happen, everything gets warped into a strange other world. Sense becomes nonsense. The rules change, and the new rules are hard to figure out.

        Like

        1. Oh so terribly true. My ability to trust was certainly warped, or more accurately, shattered. I still wonder what people are really up to because people don’t usually come right out with the simple truth. I tend to go right to bare basics. Having the ability to look underneath the bullshit has its benefits.

          Like

    2. (perceptions possible ‘off kilt’ not by your doing, but what was being done to you) So sorry this happened to you. I mean to say, that maybe you only thought the males were acting as such. I don’t know, maybe they were nervous and because of that were acting anxious and laughing nervously, and somehow you felt they ‘knew’ something about you. I always felt others ‘knew’ about me, that my dirtiness and badness showed. How sad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

